THE CANADIAN ACADEMY OF ENGINEERING

> Leadership in Engineering Advice for Canada



L'ACADÉMIE CANADIENNE du génie

Chef de file en matière d'expertise-conseil en génie pour le Canada

MINUTES ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 2016

27 June 2016, 1230 - 1330 EDT Hotel Fort Garry 222 Broadway, Winnipeg, MB. R3C 0R3

FELLOWS IN ATTENDANCE

Barrington, Suzelle* Beauchamp, Yves Buchanan, Douglas Carlin, Glen Patrick* Chandra, Ambrish* Cheng, J.J. Roger* Cockcroft, Steve* Das Gupta, Sankar* Espley, Samantha* Fang, Liping*

- Haas, Ralph Hansson, Carolyn Isaacs, Eddy Karakatsanis, Catherine Kherani, Nazir* Kinsner, Witold* Kipouros, Georges* L'Abbé, Richard* Mascher, Peter Nakhla, Michel*
- Price, Gerald Ruth, Douglas Sachdev, Manov* Snook, Sara Jane Tontiwachwuthikul, Paitoon* Vannelli Antonio* Wang, Zhou* Whitmore, Donald W. Zheng, Ying*

(* = New Member)

1. OPENING REMARKS

Executive Director Kevin Goheen welcomed everyone. He introduced President-Elect D. Ruth, who would be chairing the meeting in the absence of President P. Lortie, who by necessity was travelling abroad.

President-Elect D. Ruth opened the meeting at 12:30 p.m. by welcoming all Fellows including New Fellows to the 30th Annual General Meeting. of the Canadian Academy of Engineering. He introduced the head table participants – Kevin Goheen (Executive Director), Eddy Isaac (Board member and President-Elect) and Yves Beauchamp (Board member and Treasurer).

2. RECOGNITION OF DECEASED FELLOWS

President-Elect Ruth asked the assembly to stand for a few moments while he recognized Fellows who we are aware of who have passed away since our last AGM:

Mr. H. William Pearson M. Bernard Lamarre

3. QUORUM DETERMINATION

President-Elect Ruth noted that our By-Laws require a minimum of 20 members or 20% of the active membership (whichever is less) to constitute a quorum. He observed that there were clearly more than 20 Active Fellows present, and hence declared a quorum. He reminded attendees that while Emeritus and Honorary Fellows are welcome to participate fully in the discussion and to address the meeting, they are **NOT** eligible to cast a formal vote, or to propose or second motions. He requested participants to identify themselves, when making motions or addressing the meeting, to ensure that we have an accurate record of the meeting.

4. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

President-Elect Ruth invited any additions or modifications to the agenda distributed. There being none, it was moved by C. Hansson, seconded by P. Mascher, that the Agenda be approved. **CARRIED.**

5. APPROVAL OF MINUTES – AGM 2015

The President-Elect invited identification of any errors or omissions by those in attendance. It was moved by C. Karakatsanis, seconded by D. Buchanan, that the minutes for the 2015 AGM be approved. **CARRIED.**

6. REPORT OF PRESIDENT – 2015/2016

D. Ruth delivered P. Lortie's report on the Academy's activities this past year.

7. FINANCIAL

• Audit Report 2015

The Treasurer, Mr. Yves Beauchamp presented the auditor's 2015 financial statement for the CAE.

It was moved by E. Isaacs, seconded by G. Kipouros that the audited Financial Statements for 2015 be approved. **CARRIED.**

• Treasurer's Report / Budget 2016

Y. Beauchamp presented a detailed analysis of F2015 and the Board approved budget for F2016.

• Appointment of Auditors 2016

The Finance and Audit Committee has recommended the firm of Frouin Group Professional Corporation to the Board, to act as auditors to the CAE for a second year. The recommendation of the Board is that we appoint them for the year 2016.

It was moved by C. Hansson, seconded by D. Whitmore, that Frouin Group be appointed as CAE auditors for 2016. **CARRIED.**

9. ELECTION OF DIRECTORS AND OFFICERS – 2015/2016

President-Elect Ruth noted that the Nominating Committee had provided a recommended slate of proposals for 2016/2017, and that these had been endorsed by the Board of Directors.

Relative to Officers and Directors-at-Large, the following names had been proposed:

For Officers:

President:	Douglas Ruth
President-Elect:	E. Isaacs
Secretary-Treasurer:	Yves Beauchamp
Past President:	P. Lortie

For Directors-at-Large:

Continuing:	Eddy Isaacs
Continuing:	Sara Jane Snook
Continuing:	Colin E. Smith
Continuing:	Charles Randell
Continuing:	Bruce Burlton
New:	Andre Corbould
New:	Peter Frise

There being no alternative nominations from the floor, it was moved by P. Mascher, seconded by C. Karakatsanis, that this slate of officers and directors be approved. **CARRIED.**

Relative to membership of the Fellowship Committee the following proposal had been received:

For Fellowship Committee:

Chair (New): David Coleman

	President
	President-Elect
	Secretary-Treasurer
Members-at-Large:	
Continuing:	John Dinemoro

Continuing:	John Dinsmore
Continuing:	Ray Gosine
Continuing:	Andrew Hrymak

For Council of Canadian Academies Board of Governors:

Continuing:Axel MeisenNew:Pierre Lortie

For CAETS Board of Directors (June 2015 to June 2017):

Continuing: Robert L. Evans

There being no alternative nominations from the floor, it was moved by D. Buchanan, seconded by D. Whitmore, that this slate of members for the Fellowship Committee be approved. **CARRIED.**

11. ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING ARRANGEMENTS – 2017

President-Elect Doug Ruth announced Ottawa or Montreal as the location of the next Annual Meeting in June 2017. The Board will announce the theme and date at a later time.

12. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no additional business

13. ADJOURNMENT

D. Ruth thanked the Fellows for attending the AGM and declared a CONSENSUS for adjournment at 1:20 p.m.

INDUCTION OF NEW FELLOWS 2016 (Added for the record)

The Induction of New Fellows took place before dinner at the Canadian Museum of Human Rights. This year, 33 of the 43 newly-elected Fellows were able to be present at the Induction Ceremony. E. Isaacs read the citations as each inductee came forward, received their framed certificate from D. Ruth and had a photograph taken, and then signed the members' register and received a CAE pin. Those present were:

- Suzelle Barrington Bruno Bussière Glen Carlin Ambrish Chandra Jie Chen J. J. Roger Cheng Steven Cockcroft Elizabeth Croft Sankar Das Gupta Samantha Espley Liping Fang
- Jason Gu Heather Kennedy Nazir Kherani Witold Kinsner Georges Kipouros Richard L'Abbé Jingli Luo Jeannette Montufar Michel Nakhla Gregory Naterer Andrew Pape-Salmon
- Milica Radisic Manoj Sachdev Vinay Sharma Xueliang Sun Murray Thomson Paitoon Tontiwachwuthikul Honghi Tran Antonio Vannelli Zhou Wang Jiujun Zhang Ying Zheng

Ten other Fellows have been formally accepted for the year 2016 and will receive their lapel pins and certificates at future Annual Meetings. They are:

William Breukelman Thomas Brown Christophe Caloz Andrew Daugulis Sadik Dost Hoda ElMaraghy John Gruzleski Kimberly Keating Deepa Kundur Douglas Van Dine